Casa da Luz Museum

The Casa da Luz Museum is located in the old Funchal Power Plant and the exhibition has various thematic areas. The former Funchal Power Plant, inaugurated in 1870 by the first electricity company in Madeira, the Madeira Electric Lighting Company Limited, was only finally decommissioned in 1989 and has housed since the Casa da Luz Museum.
A first display area shows various types of illumination used in the city of Funchal and related street furniture, from the earliest examples of oil lamps to the street lamps of today, entitled "Lights of Funchal”.

A second thematic area presents the progression history of electrification on the archipelago, entitled “A century of electricity”. There is a variety of machinery and the two main forms of power generation: thermal and hydropower. A transformer and its connection to an electricity pole were also installed, in the exhibition area known as the second chamber. This space has also been enhanced with models of various power plants, as well as urban and rural electricity grids and a three-dimensional orohydrographic chart, synthesising the gradual electrification of the archipelago.

A third area gives a didactic sense of the “energy sources” exhibition, primary and renewable, on wind and solar energy as well as an area dedicated to science and technology, provided with equipment and interactive multimedia software. In this area, there are computers with software suitable to the topic, (virtual reality helmet), plasma ball, (Faraday cage), fibre optics and a multimedia kiosk, where you can explore the Museum’s CD-Rom. There is also a temporary exhibition area, a documentation centre, auditorium, gift shop and a cafeteria. It is also equipped with all of the safety and circulation norms for disabled visitors.