Cani├žo Mother Church

The Caniço Mother Church was built in 1783 under Father José Lomelino Barreto.
The architecture of the church shows the transition between baroque and rococo.
It has a longitudinal plan and single nave. The main facade is in gable cornice with an ashlar masonry portal, including a full arch topped by a window and the royal arms. Due to its dimensions, the great bell tower is nearly without equal in the region, standing out clearly across the landscape of Caniço valley.
The interior has white and gilt woodwork. Paintings by Nicolau Ferreira can also be enjoyed.