São Fernando Fort

Situated above the beach of Santa Cruz, the São Fernando Fort was built in the 18th century and was used for observation and coastal defense and was restored by Paulo Dias de Almeida during the Liberal Wars.
The name São Fernando indicates an ancient chapel that existed in the area, which gave its name to the place but no longer existed by 1820. On the other side, at that time, the guardhouse was up against another old chapel, also no longer existing, dedicated to St. Lazarus.